News and Resources
News Release

Independent Directors Council Reelects Chair Dawn Vroegop; Kathleen T. Barr Named Vice Chair

Three New Governing Council Members Selected

Washington, DC; October 3, 2019—The Governing Council of the Independent Directors Council (IDC) reelected Dawn Vroegop as its chair for a second term and elected Kathleen T. Barr as its vice chair. Vroegop is an independent director of Brighthouse Funds and Driehaus Funds, while Barr is an independent director of William Blair Funds and Professionally Managed Portfolios.

“I am looking forward to building on our work at IDC over the coming year, where I will continue to shine the spotlight on the critical role independent directors play in protecting shareholders’ interests,” Vroegop said. “I’m proud of the commitment and work of the entire Governing Council and IDC’s staff to tackling the challenges in fund governance.”

“IDC’s efforts help independent directors fulfill their responsibilities to shareholders, and I welcome the opportunity to serve as vice chair,” said Barr. “I look forward to working with Dawn, the Governing Council, and IDC’s staff to ensure independent directors are ready to take on the complexity of today’s issues.”

IDC Managing Director Amy Lancellotta added, “I’m excited to continue working with Dawn as chair of the Governing Council. Dawn is a proven leader, and I know she will continue to effectively guide the important work of IDC. I also welcome Kathie and our three new members of the Governing Council, each of whom is committed to meeting the needs of independent directors.”

Three independent directors are joining the Governing Council:

  • Robert J. Chersi, Independent Director, Thrivent Funds
  • Mary Davis Holt, Independent Director, American Funds
  • Karla M. Rabush, Independent Director, Lord Abbett Funds

The full membership of the IDC Governing Council is available on the IDC website.