News and Resources
News Release

IDC Reelects Kathleen T. Barr as Chair; Elects Cynthia Plouché as Vice Chair

Three Independent Directors Join IDC’s Governing Council

Washington, DC; October 7, 2021—The Governing Council of the Independent Directors Council (IDC) has reelected Kathleen T. Barr as its chair for a second term and elected Cynthia Plouché as its vice chair.

Barr, who has served in that role for the past year, is an independent director of William Blair Funds and Professionally Managed Portfolios. Plouché is an independent director of Northern Trust’s mutual funds.

“I am honored to be elected to a second term as chair of IDC’s Governing Council and look forward to working with Vice Chair Cynthia Plouché in her new role,” said Barr. “Cynthia’s deep governance and industry experience will be essential as we develop and enhance our educational resources to help the fund director community navigate today’s rapidly changing environment.”

“IDC is an invaluable resource and network for the director community, and serving as vice chair of the Governing Council provides a tremendous opportunity to build on this success for the current and next generation of fund directors,” said Plouché. “From its educational offerings to its policy advocacy, IDC’s mission and activities increase in importance every year. I look forward to building on that work with Kathie, the Governing Council, and IDC staff.” 

IDC Managing Director Thomas Kim added, “Kathie has displayed extraordinary leadership guiding the Governing Council through the uncertain times of COVID-19. I look forward to continuing this work with her and with Cynthia as vice chair. In her role as head of IDC’s Diversity and Inclusion Working Group, Cynthia has strategically and thoughtfully led several critical initiatives. I know her expertise will complement Kathie’s skills as IDC advocates for independent directors in service to fund shareholders.”

The Governing Council also elected three new members:

  • Pamela G. Carlton, Columbia Funds
  • Eric T. McKissack, FlexShares Trust and Morgan Stanley Pathway Funds
  • Gregory A. Ratliff, Domini Funds

The full membership of IDC’s Governing Council is on IDC’s website.