News Release

News Release

Independent Directors Council Announces Leadership for Coming Year

Cynthia Plouché re-elected as Chair, William Ebsworth elected Vice-Chair

Washington, DC; October 5, 2023—The Independent Directors Council (IDC) announced today that it has re-elected Cynthia R. Plouché as Chair and elected William R. Ebsworth as Vice-Chair of its Governing Council for the 2023–2024 fiscal year. Plouché, who recently completed her first year as IDC chair, is an Independent Director on the boards of the Northern Trust mutual funds and MassMutual funds. Ebsworth is an Independent Director of the Allspringfunds.

“I am thrilled to continue as chair of IDC’s Governing Council,” said Plouché. “I look forward to working with Bill, the new and returning members of the Governing Council, and the entire independent director community this upcoming fiscal year to strengthen fund board governance that advances shareholder interests.”

“I am honored to join the leadership of the Governing Council. I look forward to working with Cynthia, Tom, and the entire IDC staff to look for new opportunities to support engagement with the independent director community while continuing IDC’s excellent work,” said Ebsworth.

IDC Managing Director Thomas Kim added, “It is a privilege to work with Cynthia as Chair of the Governing Council. The director community will continue to benefit tremendously fromher leadership and guidance. I welcome Bill as a new member of our leadership and look forward to working alongside him as IDC maintains our focus on excellence in governance and supporting fund directors across the country.”

The Governing Council elected the following four independent directors to serve on the Council:

Michael G. Clark
Independent Director, Cohen & Steers Funds

Hugh T. Hurley
Independent Director, HSBC Funds

Nancy M. Morris
Independent Director, Diamond Hill Funds

Kathryn L. Quirk
Independent Director, Harbor Funds and Harbor ETF Trust 

The full membership of the IDC Governing Council is available on the IDC website.